According to this report, New Jersey’s youngest drivers will gain driving experience under some of the nation’s strictest driving laws as of spring 2010 in an effort to prevent accidents that cause personal injury in New Jersey. New Jersey Governor Corzine recently signed into law a measure which will require drivers under the age of 21 to display a sticker on the window of their vehicle which indicates that they are new drivers. The move is intended to make younger drivers more easily identifiable to law enforcement officials. The new law is called and was named after 16-year-old Kyleigh D’Alessio who was killed in a car accident involving a teen driver who also died.
In a bill-signing ceremony at D’Alessio’s former school-West Morris Central High-Corzine said, “Having a driver’s license is an awesome responsibility for any teenager. The legislation I am signing today initiates several preventative measures to help avoid further teen driving tragedies like Kyleigh’s while ensuring that our young people are better prepared to safely take to the roadways,” he said.
The governor also signed a second law targeting younger drivers which will also go into effect spring 2010 which limits drivers under 21 from having more than one passenger in the car unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian. This law also changes the curfew for young drivers from midnight to 5 A.M., to 11 P.M. and 5 A.M.
Auto accidents in New Jersey claim a disproportionate amount of teenage drivers’ lives, but drivers of all ages are at risk on our state’s busy streets and highways, not only from inexperienced drivers but also drunken drivers, distracted drivers, sleep-deprived drivers, and negligent drivers.
The new law also changes the naming of licenses for under-21 drivers from provisional licenses to probationary licenses. On average, New Jersey’s teenage drivers are involved in an auto accident every nine minutes and one in six licensed young drivers in New Jersey is involved in a car crash. New Jersey law enforcement officials said that if an underage driver failed to have the sticker on their car when the law takes effect, the driver would be fined $100 but did not say what the punishment for subsequent violations would entail.
If you or someone you care for has been injured or killed in an auto accident, the New Jersey auto accident attorneys at Lependorf & Silverstein may be able to help you receive the compensation you deserve. To schedule a free consultation with the experienced New Jersey auto accident lawyers at New Jersey personal injury law firm Lependorf & Silverstein, call them today at 609-240-0040.