New Jersey Senator Dick Codey has sponsored a bill that if passed, will increase penalties for those who text and drive in the Garden State. According to NJ.com, those who are caught texting while driving for the first time will face a $200 fine. A second offense could result in a $400 fine and a third offense would cost the violator $600. This increase in penalty is a direct response to the ever-increasing number of car accidents in New Jersey that involve distracted driving.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), about 6,000 people were killed and over half a million people were injured as a result of car accidents caused by distracted drivers in the United States in 2008. New Jersey is trying to crack down on distracted driving by having a goal to issue about 10,000 tickets for distracted driving each month.
Drivers who choose to text and drive put everyone on the road at great risk. Distracted driving is a form of negligence. Anyone who causes a car accident because they were texting or talking on a hand-held phone can be held civilly liable for the damages that result from an accident they cause. Injured victims can seek compensation for medical expenses, loss of wages, and vehicle damage, and more.
The skilled personal injury attorneys at Lependorf & Silverstein have an excellent track record of protecting the rights of injured victims and their families and ensuring that the at-fault parties are held civilly responsible for the damages in a court of law. If you have been injured in an accident caused by a distracted driver in New Jersey, please contact our Princeton car accident lawyers today at 609-240-0040 for a free and comprehensive consultation.