Distracted driving is a serious problem in New Jersey. Drivers looking at a cell phone to make a call or send a text message are more likely to cause an accident because their eyes and attention are not on the roadway. New Jersey law enforcement is doing their part to cite drivers who use their cell phones without a hands-free device, but this is not a strong enough deterrent to stop all New Jersey cell phone car accidents. If you have been injured by a negligent driver in a New Jersey car accident, you may be able to pursue financial compensation for the damages suffered in the crash.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) estimates that up to 25 percent of all police-reported vehicle accidents involve a driver who was distracted. Since March 1, 2008, it has been a primary offense in New Jersey to use a cell phone without a hands free device. This means that an officer may pull you over for using your phone to make a call or send a text and, consequently, give you a $100 citation.
If you have been injured in a car accident caused by an inattentive driver, you could seek compensation from the at-fault driver for injuries, damages and losses you have sustained. Proving that the at-fault driver was distracted would require a skilled personal injury attorney. A knowledgeable lawyer can use eyewitness accounts, police reports and cell phone records to prove that a driver was using a cell phone at the time of an accident.
The Princeton cell phone accident lawyers at Lependorf & Silverstein help their clients receive compensation for losses such as medical bills, pain, suffering and lost wages. Call our offices at 609-240-0040 for a free consultation and comprehensive case evaluation.