Under New Jersey Title 39:4-10.1, anyone younger than 17 years old who rides a bicycle, is a passenger on one, or is towed as a passenger by a bicycle is required to wear a safety helmet. According to the New Jersey Department of Transportation’s website, this helmet law was extended in 1998 to include roller skates, inline skates, and skateboards as well. A bicycle is defined as “a vehicle with two wheels propelled solely by human power and having pedals, handle bars and a saddle-like seat.”
The law is also clear about the helmet requirements. All helmets must be properly fastened and fitted, should meet the federal standards as specified by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), and should have strong chin straps that keep the helmet in place in the event of a collision. Helmets have shown to significantly reduce head injuries, specifically bike accident traumatic brain injuries. First-time violators of the helmet law will receive warnings. In the case of minors, the parent or legal guardian may be fined $25 for a first offense and a maximum of $100 for subsequent offenses.
Despite helmets and other safety gear, bicyclists could suffer devastating injuries in the event of a crash. If a negligent driver caused the accident, then, the injured victims could seek compensation from the at-fault driver for damages. If the accident was caused by a dangerous roadway condition, then the governmental entity responsible for maintaining that roadway could also be held liable.
The experienced Princeton bicycle accident injury lawyers at Lependorf & Silverstein have a long and successful track record of protecting the rights of injured bicyclists in New Jersey. If you or a loved one has been injured in a New Jersey bicycle accident, please contact us at (609) 240-0040 to discuss your case at absolutely no cost.