If you ride a bicycle in New Jersey, it is in your best interest to wear a helmet. While New Jersey law does not require adult riders to wear a helmet, they should be worn because of the significant protection they can provide. New Jersey bicycle accidents are common, and victims who are not wearing a helmet have a much greater chance of suffering a fatal injury or a traumatic brain injury (TBI).
According to The Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute, of the 616 cyclists killed in 2010, 429 were not wearing a helmet. That means that 70 percent of fatally injured bicyclists were not wearing a helmet at the time of the crash. Riders who are wearing a helmet have a much greater chance of surviving the collision.
New Jersey law does not, however, require all bike riders to wear a helmet. Under N.J.S.A. 39:4-10.1, only riders younger than 17 years of age are required to wear a safety helmet while riding a bicycle. Since 1998, that law extends to roller skaters, skateboarders, and inline skaters. Bicycle helmets must be properly fitted and fastened, and they must meet the federal standards developed by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC).
Victims of New Jersey bike crashes who choose to ride without a helmet will be more likely to suffer a serious head injury such as a brain injury. TBIs can have devastating symptoms including a significant loss in physical and mental abilities. Many victims of traumatic brain injuries will very likely require expensive medical treatments and may never again return to work.
The reputed New Jersey bicycle accident head injury attorneys at Lependorf & Silverstein have a long history of protecting the rights of injured bicyclists. We offer free consultations at (609) 240-0040 to anyone who has suffered an injury in a New Jersey bike crash.